remove ad
latest older random profile notes diaryland

2012-01-08 / 12:28 a.m.

I always feel like this town is dropping away from me. It's built on a steep decline, and you can never see for more than a little distance. I've never belonged here. One of my childhood best friends left, but she comes back every now and again. I might see her for an hour or two every year. She talks about sex and boyfriends, and I roll my eyes. I have no interest in talking about sex. I have no interest in having sex anymore. Maybe that makes me silly and unusual, but I feel pretty content with the way things are I guess. Much as I complain.
She picked up a photobook that I had lying on my bed, and I told her that my Mam had picked it up for me for Christmas. She asked me why, and I told her that it's because it's a photobook, and she just said 'oh'. That made me really sad. She showed me pictures of her boyfriend and swooned over him a while. He looks like all the other guys she's ever been with and she's in love all over again. I showed her something I'd made that I'm really proud of and she laughed at it because she didn't get it, so I decided to not explain, and I sneakily pushed the book I've recently had published under the bed with my toe when she wasn't looking.
I drove her back to her Dad's house sometime before ten in the evening, I had work the next morning, and she asked me what I thought happened to the both of us. I guess she was just curious for my input, she'd already made up her own mind. She didn't really mean about us growing apart, but I don't think she would've stopped me if that's how I'd chosen to answer. I told her I was sad because that's the way I had to be to be who I am. I mumbled something about it being in my family, but I don't think she really wanted to know about that part. She blamed this town. She's a coward. I would elaborate, but really, I don't like to spend time thinking about her anymore. I think our time has passed.
She knocked at the front door, and I drove away before anybody answered.

<< >>