remove ad
latest older random profile notes diaryland

2009-12-08 / 1:45 p.m.

I helped to decorate the post office where I work today. I framed everything in tinsel because it's all I had to work with and I felt quite pleased with myself because my mammy never lets me put up tinsel in our house. She says it's tacky and old fashioned but I think it's got too much memories in it to really discard it completely.
I placed a snowglobe on the floor - a musical snowglobe, with Jesus inside - and left it there to play a Christmas song that was vaguely familiar, but not quite enough for me to hum along. I accidentally kicked it over and broke it, spilling fake snow and glass everywhere and I felt bad, real bad, because I knew it was totally my own fault for leaving it in such a silly place and I was afraid that it held some great sentimental value that I'd gone and ruined.
My boyfriend said not to worry because it was just something cheap anyway, and that's where we'll never agree. These things are worth more than their monetary values, and I was all nervous for about an hour after 'til I saw my boss again and she said it was fine and that these things happen and I'm glad that it wasn't important because it would've felt like a bad start to Christmas.
I smiled again for the rest of my time at work and when I got home, my puppies ran out to jump all over me with wet and mucky paws and I found my certificate from my college on the table and a new toy camera with four lenses that I'd ordered and despite the pain in my chest and the crawling sensation in my head, I felt okay about things, and decided that for the rest of today, I'm wearing wellies every damn which way I go.

<< >>