remove ad
latest older random profile notes diaryland

2009-11-25 / 12:56 a.m.

The electricity was gone this morning when I woke up, and it got so as I didn't know what to do with myself because I was waiting around for a dentist's appointment and there wasn't enough time to do anything but there was too much time to do nothing. I couldn't wash because the water wouldn't work and I couldn't eat because there was no food. I mean it, the world fell apart in a matter of hours when electricity ceased to exist.
My appointment got cancelled and nobody could wash and the shops that stayed open ran clean out of candles and people were talking like it was the end of everything. The shelves were empty and there were jars smashed on the floors and people were just stepping over them, and walking on, thinking nothing of it, just going and it felt so unusual for the world to not be a perfect cycle of perfection. People were running on emotion and honesty and it felt good, it felt oh so good, with the wind slapping the backs of my legs and the rain pouring down and down and down.
I got this sensation down in my soul like these days are just a test, and I feel like I'm failing but to be honest, I don't mind all that much because my soul feels much more placid than it has in a while.
I feel like quitting every single last thing and going, but I always talk about going. Why haven't I ever gone?

The lights came back at three o' clock, just before everybody lit their candles and all of a sudden nobody's hugging anybody else anymore. Television's back and we're all staring. The world is right again. The world is right again?

<< >>