remove ad
latest older random profile notes diaryland

2009-10-07 / 1:37 a.m.

I went for a late night drive with two of the people I care most for in the whole world. We went to a small medieval city named Kilkenny, and it's like a sort of not so well kept secret that can only be found by enduring some of the best, worst, winding roads from every angle. I haven't yet found one good road into that place, but it adds to the feel of the old city, passing under and over bridges that stray what seems too far from real water.
The last time that I made that drive was in June, late at night. Tired and weary, teary eyed - four of us under the age of twenty heading off home, those roads twisting and turning angrily, sharply. Unforgiving.
Sometimes those humps and bumps and twists and turns seem calming and fun, light-hearted and simple like nothing can really matter in the world much more than it does at face value to each and every soul.
I went to the supermarket that night and picked up two cans of milk so that we could have cereal in the morning, only none of us slept and none of us could bring ourselves to eat for the next few days.

We made that trip tonight with that same lady that we each cried for in our own ways, and I thanked my lucky stars that we were able to make that trip once again the way we were always supposed to. Mother in the front seat singing Dolly Parton songs and telling us in short, jagged breaths that Christianity is the biggest heap of shit.

And I can't argue, because I guess that's what happens when you have three children to look after by yourself and you've got as many months to live.

<< >>