remove ad
latest older random profile notes diaryland

2009-07-16 / 1:06 a.m.

I saw a rocket flying across the sky this evening. I was stood outside in a muddy puddle with my neck craned trying to catch a glimpse of it. I thought I saw it once, all far away and hardly moving. It seemed to disappear, and I was so sure that that was it. But it wasn't, I figured, because it hadn't really gone anywhere at all, it was just me swaying where I stood.
Eventually, I saw it moving right across the sky, and it was just like a star. I swear, I was so very excited because, well, Christ, I've never seen a damn rocket before and I don't really know what you're supposed to do when you see one. Like, maybe I missed out on something that you're supposed to do when you see something like that. So I waved, and grinned a big toothy smile because that's all I could think to do, even though they were miles and miles away in a big hunk of metal and they didn't care much what they were leaving behind, only where they were going.
I just disappointed myself I guess, because it looked just like a shooting star, and I forgot to wish. Okay, so maybe rockets aren't meant for wishing on, but man, I've been wishing on a space station for years and it's done me just fine.

<< >>