remove ad
latest older random profile notes diaryland

2010-04-29 / 8:18 p.m.

I think I actually kind of like my job which is definitely a first for me. I work every day for about three hours for the past few weeks which makes a change from between four and ten hours a week, but I like getting to know things a lot better. This is the longest I've ever held down a job and my boss actually takes the time to name and shame all of the people that tell her that I'm nice and I'm pleasant and it actually makes me feel good about things in general. I guess it really does pay off. My boss is the kind of woman who moves slower than slow and doesn't rush for much of anybody but she's kind of paranoid about the weirdest little things. She doesn't buy those old penny jellies that actually cost two cents because those are the ones that the kids always want but she buys these boxes and boxes of jelly snakes and I think on average she sells about a whole box a day which is pretty crazy because that's a whole lot of sugar and a whole lot of jellies. She's messy and unorganised and everything's computerised now since just a few weeks ago - it's why I've been working all this time - and so she doesn't understand all that much of anything even though she tries. She's the kind of woman that turns over the newspaper so nobody can see the front page so that the face of a dead girl doesn't smile at her family as they pass by and she's the kind of woman who doesn't really know how much money she makes or loses but she just does it because she likes it and it's what she does best.
I work by myself most days and all of these really old people come in and buy stuff and send things in the post and they're all really nice and I've never known a place where everything could actually be pleasant just for the sake of pleasantries and I like it a lot. Believe it or not, work is one of those reasons from the long list of why I like to be alive.

<< >>